Skip to content

you ask the question 2

January 23, 2008

I guess I’ll go in order. Jeanna (the artist formerly known as Beaner) asked about what I would tell the 18-year-old version of myself if I could go back in time. I don’t know if you have heard some stories about me (i did inhale) or if your just a fan of Back to the Future.

It really is a tough question. Many of the tough times, I wouldn’t want to change. They make us/ me who we are. There are some things that I took as advice or truth that I wish I had seen differently.

I was trying to think..18 I turned 18 my senior year of high school. I was all into sports and enjoying my last year of high school. Of course I was all into females as well. I also committed to becoming a Christian that year. Late in life by some standards, considering I knew all the right answers long, long before then.

18-football.jpg

So to this guy…I know that breaking your hand in football seemed like the end of life…it isn’t. BTW, you’ve already ruined your knees. And when you come down with Chicken pox opening day of Baseball. Well…it just wasn’t meant to be.

Jeanna, there are somethings that I could tell you that I just can’t put here on this blog. But I will tell you in an e-mail if you want to know.

To this version of myself….(I could be 19…not sure) Don’t go along with the practical joke! Having the bride crying after the ceremony that you ‘ruined the wedding’ wasn’t worth the laugh.

18-wedding.jpg
I would tell myself to listen to my heart more. That God has given me a new heart and his Spirit dwelling in me. That those promptings should be acted on and not rationalized. Assuming that I only have limited time to talk to myself…I would focus on what really matters.

I would tell myself about God’s grace. About how he isn’t surprised by our sin, he already knew it would happen. About God wanting us to shine like stars in the universe.

And there are some situations that will come up (which did) and to be sure and make the same decision as I did. There are a few that could have been my last decision.

I would tell myself that there will be times that I will need a father for advice. That God does speak and will father me if I will just let him.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. January 23, 2008 4:46 pm

    You look bent on mischief in that bottom picture. Boys in football uniforms are always good looking…..what is that?

  2. January 23, 2008 4:49 pm

    I like your self-advice. The pics are cool too.

    I would tell myself to continue graduate work after college and to not say some things I said along the way!

  3. January 23, 2008 7:02 pm

    Dufus

  4. January 23, 2008 9:47 pm

    Cutie pie!

  5. January 24, 2008 4:28 pm

    You were a good looking young man, Tommy. Still are!

    I like your advice to yourself. Wish I had gotten some of it when I was 18.

    Much love,

    Dee

Leave a Reply

