Skip to content

you ask the question 5

January 28, 2008

question-mark.jpg

Amanda asked a very tough question. She asked what I think is the hardest thing about being a Christian.

That of course is something that probably changes from person to person. But in thinking about this question I thought about how hard it is to no be lulled into believing that we are not at war. As in acting as if there is no enemy and just be passive.

There are lots of things that I struggle with. I was telling a good friend about this just the other day. I am so very far from perfect. I find it easier to read a book about the Bible than to read the Bible regularly. I find it easier to study about prayer than to pray. Its easier to take the time to read about spending time in silence and solitude than to actually do it. Its easier to tell someone else about God speaking than to quiet myself and listen. I could go on and on. You get the point.

But as I have thought about it, my answer (for now anyway) is that the hardest thing is what might seem easy. Easy to understand. Jesus was asked about the greatest command and he answered that we were to love God with all of our heart and soul and mind. And that the second is to love your neighbor as yourself. I found these profoundly difficult to live out. There is a part of me that wants to figure something out completely before starting. But I am learning that just doing something is better than doing nothing. It has come to me in many ways lately. That “one is greater than none” 1>0.

So Amanda, to love God with all my being and to love others as myself is my answer. Greatfully I am getting better. But not of my own doing or striving or practice, I do have enough perspective that I can see how God has been growing and transforming me all these years so that I’m much better than I once was. It is His Spirit at work.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 29, 2008 11:10 am

    Good answer, Tommy. I appreciated reading it.

    You (and your buddies you lined up) certainly exhibited brotherly love to me and Tom when y’all came down to our house in Slidell that weekend and put new shingles on it!

    Much love,

    Dee

  2. January 29, 2008 8:41 pm

    That is really interesting.

    For me, it’s truly grasping that God loves me. I figure if I could really get my head around that, the rest would sort of fall into place.

Leave a Reply

