Skip to content

Coffee anyone?

February 26, 2008

cafe-cool.gif

Starbucks is closing for 3 hours this afternoon to energize its workers. And I felt a random declaration of “man this coffee it good”. I have been drinking this Kenyan coffee but today I am having a old favorite from Barnies Coffee : “Cool Cafe Blues”

So what kind of coffee are you drinking today?

16 Comments leave one →
  1. February 26, 2008 11:57 am

    Folgers….regular blend….black, you know REAL COFFEE!!

  2. February 26, 2008 12:44 pm

    Don’t drink coffee… it makes me talk fast and jittery and figetty (sp-1)

    Actually, I don’t like it. I stick with water.

    Is there a more boring person than me?

  3. February 26, 2008 3:01 pm

    Well, I have found a fellow non-coffee drinker on your blog Tommy!

    I never have liked coffee. Everyone keeps telling me what I am missing out on- $4.95 for a cup! lol

  4. February 26, 2008 3:37 pm

    Gave it up for Lent – got any good teas???

  5. February 26, 2008 4:19 pm

    I heard Starbucks was closing today. One of the teachers had seen it on her home page and then the news came on the radio in my van. Have we come to this?

    So far no coffee, but later I’ll have a Gevalia decaf vanilla latte from my Tassimo.

  6. February 26, 2008 4:24 pm

    Cafe Oro

  7. February 27, 2008 9:58 pm

    I drink Wal-Mart’s brand – Arribica – which is really good. I drink three cups of it every morning with milk in it.

    I used to drink Folger’s and before that Maxwell House, but Wal-Mart’s brand (and Sam’s) won in a blind taste test against about five or six other coffees, including Folger’s and Starbucks! That sold me, plus it’s less expensive.

    I DO like Starbucks’ iced coffee once in a while – usually when I’m visiting in Abilene. My sister and I go out for coffee and conversation. It’s a social thing.

    But, here at home I’ll stick to arribica and my three cups of coffee (in here in front of the computer at my desk) first thing every morning.

    Much love,

    Dee

  8. J D permalink
    February 28, 2008 5:27 am

    My first choice is always Community Coffee, medium roast. But they have decided their coffee is worth more and I have started buying Folgers … and I like it pretty well.

    In Monroe my office has three coffee shops within a few blocks. Corporate Starbucks, local Bayou Bakery and Coffee, and local Coffee Bean. I enjoy all of them, but Starbucks still excels in atmosphere and warmth. Mylos is a few blocks further than Starbucks and it’s pretty good too.

    Dodd needs some coffee but doesn’t know it … the benefits are great… and you don’t have to pay 5 bucks for a cup. geez.

  9. February 28, 2008 9:34 am

    I am currently drinking a something called “Holy Ground Blend” offered through the Angel Food ministry. At times, I alternate it with what’s left of a bag of chocolate fudge brownie coffee from Sweet Sunrise Roastery. My default coffees change from time to time but in recent years I’ve liked the stuff I’ve gotten from Community coffee, particularly the New Orleans blend. I’ve also really liked Luzianne’s coffee/chicory product over the years.

  10. February 28, 2008 9:49 am

    see coffee brings people out. Starbucks knows that. I’ve got to say Paul, that “Holy Ground Blend” is hilarious! Holy Ground wasn’t enough, it is a blend. LOL.

    JD, you are right about Danny. Who would have thought that about him.

    Dee, good as always to hear from you. I don’t know about Wal-Mart Coffee. 🙂

    Mark, Thanks for stopping by and commenting.

    Amy, you are starting to get a little pushy about that tassimo thing!

    Jeanna, (In my best Dr. Phil voice) How’s that working for ya?

    Danny, we’ve got to get you out more!

    Terri, well let’s see more boring people than you…do you really want to know?

    Donna, you need to be more eccumenical in your coffee. I think you are drawing lines where there shouldn’t be any. It is all ‘real’ coffee.

  11. February 28, 2008 11:04 am

    Right now I am enjoying vanilla hazelnut. It is wonderful………

  12. February 28, 2008 3:07 pm

    The “Holy Ground” bag says it’s 100 percent gourmet Arabica coffee. I guess the blend comes in being different kinds of Arabica beans, just in case you were wondering the coffee’s natural origin.

  13. February 28, 2008 3:40 pm

    Well, Dr. Phil….since you asked: I have only had a few strong urges for a good cup of coffee, but my tea has kept my morning ritual virtually unchanged. However, since the effect was supposed to be me remembering Jesus’ sacrifice through my own paltry sacrifice, I’d say i’m failing since I’ve just substituted my drink choice but the ritual is still the same. But I’m gonna stick it out until Easter anyway.

  14. February 28, 2008 9:11 pm

    Jeanna, I am having a similar experience with my Diet Coke – just replacing it with other caffeine. For Tommy’s jealousy issue I won’t mention where the caffeine is coming from. But I’m sticking it out as well.

    I remember something Randy Harris said about giving up soft drinks for Lent. He wasn’t gonna do that again because on Easter Sunday everyone was saying, “Jesus is Risen!” and all he could think was, “and I get a Dr. Pepper!”

  15. March 2, 2008 7:53 pm

    Okay…I am a convert…that flavored coffee was great! Just no additives please…

  16. March 11, 2008 5:28 pm

    I remember me and a friend split $25 dollars each to buy a pound of Jumacian Blue Mountain. It was $50 dollars a pound and was the best coffe I have ever drank. The beans are grown in the perfect climate, part of the world, and grown to perfection.

    In college I also lived across from a coffee house. You could smell the coffee roasting when you open your windows. You could tell when they burnt the beans or you tell when it was perfect. Day Break Coffee House in Lubbock, Tx is one of the best coffee houses I have been too. Their coffee is the yummmmmmm.

Leave a Reply

