Skip to content

What is your role to play?

March 5, 2008

Starting with the rather too pretty young woman and the charming but rather unstable young man, who together know no more about being parents than they do the far side of the moon, the world sets in to making us what the world would like us to be, and because we have to survive after all, we try to make ourselves into something that we hope the world will like better than it apparently did the selves we originally were. That is the story of all our lives, needless to say, and in the process of living out that story, the original, shimmering self gets buried so deep that most of us hardly end up living out of it at all. Instead, we live out all the other selves which we are constantly putting on and taking off like coats and hats against the world’s weather. (Telling Secrets)

12 Comments leave one →
  1. March 5, 2008 5:57 pm

    wow, is that from a book or your head?

    i’m missing that yummy coffee and may have to break down and place an order!

  2. March 6, 2008 9:31 am

    What is up Tommy?

    Just checking in with you.

    What role do I play?- The distinguished, elequent and learned, but passionate for the message preacher, of course. 😉

    Then I go home and my two little girls bring me back to real life! lol

  3. March 6, 2008 9:49 am

    I am enjoying a 2nd cup alread this morning.
    It is Vanilla Hazelnut. Yummmmm…………
    What do I play role?
    I am Indiana Jones and I hunting for lost treasure. 🙂

  4. March 6, 2008 10:30 am

    well Amy you should no that didn’t come from my head.

    It is Frederick Buechner (Telling Secrets). He says, We come into the world with a longing to be known and a deep-seated fear that we aren’t what we should be. We are set up for a crisis of identity. And then, the world goes to work.

    Danny, thanks for checking in. I read your post on singles, but have no idea about that subject.

    Preacherman, I don’t think Indiana Jones drinks flavored coffee 😉 Good to hear from you.

  5. March 6, 2008 12:32 pm

    I had a decision to make, $4.50 for a cup at Starbucks….or, $.25 for a cup at McDonalds. Guess which one I chose?

    Royce Ogle

  6. March 6, 2008 12:36 pm

    Royce, I am fairly confident you went for McDonalds. But since they changed their coffee, I really don’t like it.

  7. March 6, 2008 1:27 pm

    Hey, Tommy –

    How are you doing, dear friend? I’ve have to email you to catch up with what’s going on with you!.

    That’s interesting that you say (the author says) we are set up for a crisis of identity because my psychologist and I were talking about identity at great length Tuesday when I went to see him in Hattiesburg. We were talking about me needing an identity for the present, not just a lot of things that I have done and been in the past, such as be a full time mom, a newspaper journalist, claims representative and attorney, and so forth.

    So, I’m working on my work as a writer and trying to emphasize that, since I’ve always considered myself to be a writer above all else. It just got nearly buried at times, but was still there.

    Interesting quote and post today!

    Much love,

    Dee

  8. March 7, 2008 6:01 am

    tommy, that was a very thought provoking post, because it sounded like the guy had done his research on me for that book. its amazing how we look for acceptance in this world, and in my case, i never really find it, but Jesus has given us His identity if we accept it. if we have taken Him on, then it is Him and not us walking around this place.

    great post. i’m on my way down to the lobby for a cup of joe right now after i finish this comment.

    keep ’em comin’ brother!

  9. March 7, 2008 6:32 am

    I just wanted to be a single fun girl who lived on Granny White Pike and drove a red convertible Mercedes and worked for an ad agency. That was the role I wanted but not what I got. Instead, I’m the rather boring small town girl.

  10. March 7, 2008 10:07 am

    Dee, you certainly don’t have to live on your past identity, you have so much to offer today! look forward to an e-mail from you.

    Kenny, that is a great point. We do so often look for the answer or validation from others and ultimately it has to come from God.

    That Girl, sorry the Mary Tyler Moore thing didn’t work the way you envisioned, but I am sure that no one has called our thought of you as a “rather boring” anything.

  11. March 11, 2008 5:23 pm

    I hope you have a blessed week brother!

  12. nobody permalink
    March 17, 2008 4:31 pm

    Forgotten friend?

Leave a Reply

