Skip to content

Let the Games begin!

March 20, 2008

sea-of-darkness.jpg

Ok, Here is the deal. The fine folks at Waterbrook Press sent me not one, but two copies of Andrew Peterson’s Book. It is part of his blog tour (or the book’s blog tour…I am never sure). Below you will find my thoughts so far. I haven’t finished the book. And you will also find what other people are saying about the book.

Now for game. For you folks who love a gift or pick up anything that is free. You have a chance of scoring your own copy of this fine book. (I got a free book, but unless someone local wins…I get to UPS you a book.) Here are the rules. Between now and Monday at 4PM Central time if you leave a comment, your name is entered into the drawing….your name is entered for every comment you leave. Don’t know what to say? Tell me/ us your favorite concert that you have attended.

Of Course you can BUY the book HERE

My review of the book:

Eli my 12 year old is reading the book. And he is actually farther along than me. His quote the first morning was and excited, “This book is weird…but really good”. He hasn’t finished it which means on the Harry Potter scale….Andrew will not knock JK Rowling off her throne. But the book is a bit like Narnia / Lord of the Rings, with a bit of humor thrown in. At least so far. The stories started as bedtime stories, but it isn’t a kids book just as Narnia isn’t. A side note, the scene at the end of the Narnia books makes me cry every time I read it.

From what I’ve read many say this turns into a real page-turner. So we’ll see.

Below are some quotes from others…and below that are a list of the blogs on the tour, in case you have hours and hours to waste on the internet!

**********

From Publishers Weekly
Playwright Peterson (Behold the Lamb of God) spins a whimsical fantasy novel that will appeal to both adult and YA readers. When the three Igiby siblings find a mysterious map, they embark on an adventure to discover family secrets about the father they never knew and a hidden treasure that many have long desired to find. Leeli, the youngest, can sing with a beauty that captivates dragons; Tink, the middle sibling, has the makings of a king; and Janner, the eldest, possesses a bravery that will protect them all. But the children’s curiosity get the entire Igiby family into trouble with the Fangs of Dang—frightening, scaly-skinned, lizard creatures that drip venom—who have ruled the land of Scree since the Great War. Soon, the Igibys are scrambling for their lives. Peterson’s style is lighthearted and funny, but following the Igibys’ story requires patience and attention to detail and character so as not to get lost. The sheer amount of names, places, creatures and history Peterson invents will frustrate some readers—it is so complicated that he inserts explanatory historical footnotes throughout (though many are amusing). (Mar.)
Copyright © Reed Business Information, a division of Reed Elsevier Inc. All rights reserved.

Review
“So good–smart, funny, as full of ideas as action.”
Jonathan Rogers, author of The Wilderking Trilogy

“A wildly imaginative, wonderfully irreverent epic that shines with wit and wisdom–and features excellent instructions on how to cope with Thwaps, Fangs, and the occasional Toothy Cow.”
Allan Heinberg, writer/co-executive producer of ABC’s Grey’s Anatomy, and co-creator of Marvel Comics Young Avengers

“Fun to read! Every page has word-play, a pun, or clever dialogue that makes me giggle, and the story is full of insight into life. The characters have great names and come to life and stimulate the imagination. Andrew is such a gifted storyteller; this book will be a treasure to both children and adults.”
James Bryan Smith, author of Room of Marvels; Rich Mullins: An Arrow Pointing to Heaven, and Embracing the Love of God; co-author of Devotional Classics with Richard J. Foster

“What a great story! I laughed, gasped, and learned more about Skreean culture than I ever thought possible. On the Edge of the Dark Sea of Darkness is equal parts adventure and whimsy–a real page turner that both accelerates the heart and warms it. I loved it.”
Carolyn Arends, singer/songwriter and author of Wrestling with Angels

“Sometimes, in order to find out who we were supposed to be, we need to get lost in other worlds: Oz, Camelot, Narnia. In On the Edge of the Dark Sea of Darkness, Andrew Peterson provides new and needed places like Aerwiar, Skree, and Glipwood–places where we need to get lost and found.”
Michael Card, author of The Hidden Face of God and The Parable of Joy, and singer/songwriter of more than thirty albums

“Totally fun! Andrew Peterson, a natural storyteller in the oral tradition, has nailed the voice needed to translate a rip-roaring fantasy tale to the written page.”
Donita K. Paul, author of DragonSpell, DragonKnight, DragonQuest, DragonFire

*********

The blog tour is below:

Adam

Allison

Amy

Amy

Amy

Andrew

Andrew

Annie

Ben

Billy

Billy

Brandon

Brandy

Brent

Brian

Caleb

Caleb

Caroline

Casey

Cathy

Chris

Chris

Chris

Chris

Chris

Christine

Cynthia

David

Derek

Drew

Ed

Eliza

Elizabeth

Ellen

Eric

Eric

Geoffrey

Henry

Jamie

Jamie

Jeff

Jeff

Jenni

Jennifer

Jennifer

Jeremiah

Jeremy

Jim

John

John

John

Justin

Karisa

Katrina

Katy

Kristin

Loren

Lyndsay

Melissa

Molly

Nate

Nicole

Paul

Paul

Pete & Heather

Peter

R. Erin

Rebecca

Rob

Rochelle

Ron

S.D.

Shannon

Shannon

Stephen

Stephen

Susan Ada

Tammy

Tanya

Thomas

Travis

Trevor

Ty

Stacia

Eric and Rachel

18 Comments leave one →
  1. March 20, 2008 12:33 pm

    I’m in! Sounds like an interesting book. I’ve always enjoyed Andrew Peterson’s music.

  2. March 20, 2008 4:02 pm

    Sounds like fun! And as far as a favorite concert experience, I”m not sure I have one. Maybe my very first real Christian concert – Mylon LeFevre and Broken Heart on the Sheep in Wolves Clothing tour, back in 85, I think.

    Gosh, I’m old.

  3. March 20, 2008 8:00 pm

    Favorite Concert? Bon Jovi in the middle of a thunderstorm/tornado. They said “If you’re crazy enough to stay, then we’re crazy enough to play!” Favorite because it was my first concert & I was in Junior High & had a HUGE crush on Ritchie Sambora. 😉

  4. March 20, 2008 8:02 pm

    I think I would get this book just from the artwork on the cover!

    You did say: “your name is entered for every comment you leave”

    Let the games begin indeed!

  5. Donna permalink
    March 20, 2008 8:31 pm

    Sounds interesting….how about my favorite concert this year? Third Day with December Radio and Sanctus Real….of course it has also been my only concert this year…but it was good

  6. March 20, 2008 8:33 pm

    I may have more to say about my favorite concert after we take our daughter to see our favorite band next month. We have tickets to see Rush!

  7. March 20, 2008 9:10 pm

    Favorite concert?

    Third Day when the bass player brought me a broken drum stick from the opening act, Switchfoot, during the middle of the show.

  8. March 20, 2008 9:12 pm

    Going to see this group I had never heard of called Pray for Rain and purchasing the CD only to find that later they had to change their name to PFR for legal reasons.

  9. March 20, 2008 9:12 pm

    Acapella when I was in junior high….not

  10. March 20, 2008 9:14 pm

    Driving down from Des Moines, Iowa for a PFR show with this group opening called Jars of Clay then afterwards going to Applebee’s and running into the Patrick Andrew in the bathroom.

  11. March 20, 2008 9:17 pm

    My first real concert was Hall and Oates, Big Bam Boom tour.

    Those boxes of lights were cool and I loved the opening act Til Tuesday.

  12. March 20, 2008 9:17 pm

    You asked.

  13. March 20, 2008 9:35 pm

    Hey, Tommy –

    I’m not going to comment as often as Darin(?!), but wanted to say the book sounds really neat. I can’t wait to hear (read) the rest of your review.

    Please pray for me, dear friend, as I’ve had a hard week since being hospitalized all last week. This new major health problem is affecting me very much and I’m not sure how it’s going to be in my life from now on. Not real good, so far.

    Drop by Finding Direction when you have a bit of time because I’d like to hear your critique and thoughts on the piece I posted today that I plan on entering in the non-fiction category in a local writing contest coming up, Lord willing.

    Thanks SO much!

    Much love,

    Dee

  14. March 21, 2008 9:05 am

    YankeeAmanda – Rush is my husband’s favorite (and the Cure) He’s seen Rush in concert too!

    I’ve also seen Metallica, Def Leppard, New Kids on the Block (several times) the Lollapalooza tour, DC Talk, Audio Adrenaline, Nicole C. Mullen AND Nicole Nordeman sang at my church & our Praise Team (including me) was the opening act!

  15. March 22, 2008 1:47 pm

    My favorite concert was just over 1 year ago. Bob Seger and the Silver Bullet Band at Cobo Arena in Detroit. It was the last show on his “Face The Promise” tour (and maybe his last show ever). After the show, I made the 2.5 hour drive home, arriving at 2:00 a.m. I got up 4 hours later to get ready to preach at our 8:00 a.m. service.

  16. March 22, 2008 1:48 pm

    Another one of my favorites was in 2002 — the “Come Together and Worship” tour with Michael W. Smith, Third Day, and Max Lucado. Good stuff.

Trackbacks

  1. rebecca love
  2. michael shannon

Leave a Reply

