Skip to content

Man’s testimony

March 25, 2008

In John chapter 2 after Jesus clears the temple (the first time) (also the first passover recorded by John, which gives us the span of Jesus’ ministry)  the text says:

23Now while he was in Jerusalem at the Passover Feast, many people saw the miraculous signs he was doing and believed in his name.F16 24But Jesus would not entrust himself to them, for he knew all men. 25He did not need man’s testimony about man, for he knew what was in a man.

How many times do we feel the need for ‘man’s testimony’ about us?  How often do we turn our question to others?  “how do you see me?”  “Am I good or good enough?”  “Do you love me?”  You know the question you ask if you think about it.

Our validation needs to come from God.  Only when I remember this principle do I find peace.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. March 25, 2008 11:07 am

    This is something I need to hear every day. My name is Jeff and I am an approval junkie.

  2. March 25, 2008 7:24 pm

    “ditto” Jeff

  3. March 27, 2008 8:18 am

    Wonderful thoughts brother.
    I hope to share my testimony on what God has done in my life more and more.
    I believe our testimonies are powerful.
    I think through them they see the power and wonderful work of God.
    God is so good and I know he will give everyone the power to share their testimonies. I am reminded that God did not give us a Spirit of Timidity but of POWER! Our lives are the greatest testimony. May we live in such a way where people see Christ in us.
    I want to thank you for this challenging and ecouraging post brother.
    I hope you have a blessed week!

Leave a Reply

