Skip to content

Total Abandon?

March 27, 2008

jesus-freak-2.gif

I’ve been reading a gift from John Eldredge which is his soon to be released book “Walking with God” The book is I believe his best and easiest to read yet. Much is sharing of his journal over the course of a year as he tries to walk with God…thus the title. In the fall he suffered an accident that left him without the use of his hands for an extended period of time. In that suffering he writes the following. BTW, he is not saying God caused the suffering.

“The sorrows of our lives are in great part his weaning process.
We give our hearts over to so many things other than God. We
look to so many other things for life. I know I do. Especially the
very gifts that he himself gives to us—they become more important
to us than he is. That’s not the way it is supposed to be. As
long as our happiness is tied to the things we can lose, we are
vulnerable.”

This truth is core to the human condition and to understanding
what God is doing in our lives. We really believe that God’s
primary reason for being is to provide us with happiness, give us
a good life. It doesn’t occur to us that our thinking is backward.
It doesn’t even occur to us that God is meant to be our all, and
that until he is our all, we are subhuman. The first and greatest
command is to love God with our whole being. Yet, it is rare to
find someone who is completely given over to God. And so normal
to be surrounded by people who are trying to make life work.
We think of the few who are abandoned to God as being sort of
odd. The rest of the world—the ones trying to make life work—
seem perfectly normal to us.

later he says,

We see God as a means to an end rather than the end itself.
God as the assistant to our life versus God as our life. We don’t see
the process of our life as coming to the place where we are fully his
and he is our all. And so we are surprised by the course of events.

It’s not that God doesn’t want us to be happy. He does. It’s
just that he knows that until we are holy, we cannot really be
happy. Until God has become our all, and we are fully his, we will
continue to make idols of the good things he gives us. We are like
a child who throws a fit because he cannot have a toy or watch
TV. In the moment, he could care less that his mother adores
him. His world is out of sorts. He does not see that his heart is
not in the right place. He needs his mother’s love and comfort far
more than he needs the thing he’s made an idol of.

So anybody out there a Jesus Freak? Do you know anybody who is? Why is it so hard to be completely abandoned to God? And why do we accept as normal those who are trying to “make life work”?

10 Comments leave one →
  1. March 27, 2008 12:13 pm

    You know that I have the best daddy ever given to a girl. Because of my relationship with him, I feel that I can understand a father/child relationship. As a child, I knew my daddy wanted me to be happy but I also knew that he’d rather me be obedient to him than to be off doing whatever it was that made me laugh that day. In fact, if I went off and did my own thing instead of what he had told me to do, I was punished.

    I know that God loves me even more than my daddy and I also know that he wants me to be living his plan and not mine.

    I didn’t answer any of your questions so I kinda did what I wanted instead of what you asked… will I be punished?

  2. March 27, 2008 1:07 pm

    yes, we are

  3. March 27, 2008 1:45 pm

    Amy, clarify/expound.

    TG. its not my place to punish you.

  4. March 27, 2008 4:09 pm

    I was responding to your comment of being on the same page today. Our themes are similar about living a life of worship, which entails giving Him all of our life/being completely abandoned to God.

    To answer your questions at the end of your post, I hope to be growing closer to living this way. It is a much more natural instinct to “make life work”.

  5. March 27, 2008 9:08 pm

    I don’t know why it is so hard.. I make baby steps, but only with certain people can I truly abandon myself in His love..? Why? I don’t know, more stuff I need to detox from..

  6. March 29, 2008 6:32 pm

    So, what does a Jesus Freak look like? I think sometimes that’s the problem – we have our own ideas of what that looks like and we pass that off on others instead of holding it up to His light.

    Am I completely abandoned to God? Probably more so on the days when I come to the end of myself. But then that’s why I’m not completely abandoned, because there’s more of me and less of Him rather than the other way around (which is the answer to why it’s so difficult).

    These are all such good questions that do not have easy answers. Thanks for provoking more reflective thought!! I look forward to the release of Eldredge’s new book!

  7. March 29, 2008 8:25 pm

    I just finished watching the Nickolodeon Kids’ Choice Awards. Miley Cyrus won for best TV actress & she got up in front of all those kids (& TV viewers) and said something like “I want to thank my Lord & Savior Jesus Christ.” WOW!!! I was impressed with her boldness – she’s only 15 & in the limelight – I’m sure the Hollywood pressure is there. I’m just really thrilled that Jessica LOVES her show – I do too & now I love her even more!!!

  8. March 31, 2008 8:12 am

    I think this is great.
    What a testimony and witness for Jesus Christ.
    How many athletes give there testimony in this way or even stand up for what is right?
    I think this is wonderful.
    God bless this soccer player for his faithfulness and trust in Jesus Christ.
    I wish there were more believers who would do the same.

  9. March 31, 2008 2:00 pm

    Why is it hard? Read the Sermon on the Mount! Everything changes and there are only a few who have the courage to go there.

    Thanks for the post my friend!

  10. April 6, 2008 8:26 pm

    I think if the church is to really change and reach out to the emerging generations we need to raise up Jesus Freaks, People who are afraid to shower God’s love on those who need it. People who aren’t afraid to show what Jesus’ life was all about and the love that they can expereince through Christ. I believe in the post-Christian world in which we live we need to be authentic more than anything else to the world in which we live. That is what is hard!

Leave a Reply

