Skip to content

Tragedy

May 22, 2008
tags: ,

Yesterday was a day of great loss. Early yesterday morning I noticed a voice mail from a number I didn’t recognize and didn’t check it until early in the afternoon, my old friend Eddie called to say that John Robert Dobbs had been killed in a tragic accident. His father John is well known in Church of Christ blogging circles. Their work after another tragedy (Katrina) showed the love of Christ to so many and allowed God’s Kingdom to break through the veil of this world in a powerful way.

John Robert the few times I was around him was such a great young man. Seemingly void of many of the insecurities that plague so many young men. But, he was still quiet and it seemed had a deep tenderness. The other young folks flocked around him. He was obviously a leader. John has blogged about their loss HERE or click on Out Here Hope Remains in the sidebar.

John and Maggy’s loss makes no sense. I don’t think I buy into that it will one day make sense.

My heart was already heavy when we heard that Steven Curtis Chapman’s youngest daughter was run over and killed in the driveway of their home yesterday. A blog has been set up HERE.

Another family that has done so much to help others faces a tragic loss. It makes no sense to adopt this precious little girl and then for this to happen.

So last night as I was going to sleep I found the tears streaming as I prayed about these losses and the parents who must be so devastated. I was asking God about the pain I was feeling and His pain in these times. I firmly believe that He hurts. I believe that He said the only way he can face it, is to know that it isn’t the end of the story.

We have to remember that.

We have to orient ourselves to things not being as they seem. That if Jesus really did raise from the dead then we can trust him to do as he promised. One day he will return. One day the grave will not hold us. One day we will fly. One day all will know that death has lost its victory and sting.

For now, my heart hurts.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Lori Roberts permalink
    May 22, 2008 9:33 am

    Hey Tommy – Sorry your heart hurts. Mine, too. Never saw your blog til now, on John Dobbs’ blog comments. I was at first surprised to see you there, but then again, not really. Give my love to Kim — surely it won’t be much longer til we can get the boys together. With our eyes fixed on Him, Lori

  2. May 22, 2008 9:57 am

    I just couldn’t go to sleep last night. I was awake until almost 3:00 just thinking about how bad things are for that family. I’m pretty sure Jesus will come get us soon. …I sure hope he will.

  3. May 22, 2008 2:43 pm

    I was thinking much the same thoughts last night. I know of three people who died tragically yesterday, and the pain seems so much…God knows of thousands more….

    But our stay in this form is not permanent…so I guess the best we can do is make the days count and count on Him to be faithful to bring us to that new life, without tears.

  4. J D permalink
    May 22, 2008 10:54 pm

    Thank you Tommy. Long exhausting visitation tonight. I guess about 300 showed up. Funeral tomorrow. Burial in Ruleville on saturday … then maybe we can find peace. But I doubt it.

  5. May 23, 2008 2:48 pm

    We all share our sorrow together in this tragic death. Thank you, Tommy, for letting me know about it Wednesday. I’ve not been the same since, but needed to know.

    Much love to you all –

    Dee

  6. May 23, 2008 7:48 pm

    Heaven will make it all worth while…but today it hurts. We had another family lose a three year old this week in an accident similar to the Chapmans. I can’t imagine the loss all three of these families are feeling.

  7. May 24, 2008 8:17 pm

    Tommy, you said that so well expressing how we feel. Our hearts hurt for the Dobbs family as well as the Chapmans.

Leave a Reply

