Skip to content

Fay Installs a skylight

August 24, 2008

Hurricane Fay came to visit last night. She dropped a tree through our roof and has decided to apparently stay a while and dump as much rain as she can through the hole!

It is interesting to stand in your living room and look up and see the sky…even more interesting to feel the rain on your face.

I got about 3 hours sleep when what I can only describe as the sound of a car wreck happening in your bedroom, woke me. Kim and the boys were out of town visiting family. It didn’t take long to feel and hear the water dripping and realize what had happened.

as of 9 PM the tree is off, there is a tarp keeping MOST of the water out and somewhere out there is an insurance company with a LARGE bill coming their way.

11 Comments leave one →
  1. August 24, 2008 8:54 pm

    OH.NO!!! I’m so glad that none of you were hurt!!! I guess I’ll be praying for a quick roofing job!! Keep us updated!

  2. August 24, 2008 9:51 pm

    T – I’m so sorry! I am so sorry.

  3. August 25, 2008 6:49 am

    I’m sorry. I know this is a whole bunch of frustrating. Praying…

  4. August 25, 2008 8:17 am

    Good grief….I am glad the family was gone where you can handle everything calmly. I really hate you are having to deal with all of that.

    Let me know if I can help.

  5. August 25, 2008 1:16 pm

    Ouch! Just so glad you guys are all ok.

  6. August 25, 2008 3:53 pm

    Wow! Sorry to hear and see this.

    We expect this kind of thing down here in Florida, but not there.

    Prayers are yours.

  7. August 25, 2008 7:30 pm

    Surely you the architect could come up with a more efficient way to install a skylight.

    Seriously, I’m so sorry this happened. So glad Kim & the boys were out of town and nobody was hurt. But still…what a mess!!

  8. J D permalink
    August 27, 2008 7:55 am

    Geez…what a nasty surprise. Sorry brother … hope the repairs go smoothly … terrible. We want to see an “after” picture when it’s done!

  9. August 27, 2008 3:58 pm

    You and family are in my prayers.
    Yes, you should show us the “after” pic.

  10. August 29, 2008 5:20 pm

    Tommy!?

    We’ve been so involved all week (and even more so, now) with Gustav that I haven’t had a chance to read any blogs this week. I’m SO sorry you had such trouble from Fay.

    That really surprises me because we just had some rain all day and not much else at all Sunday.

    Well . . . I know for a fact that you and your friends are great at roofing, when it gets to that! I sure hope you can get the repairs done soon.

    Meanwhile, please pray for all of us down south here close to the coast. It’s not looking good right now and I’m not sure yet if and/or when I’ll have to evacuate.

    Keep us updated on your own progress there after Fay.

    Much love,

    Dee

  11. September 1, 2008 6:05 am

    That’s no good! Hope they get it repaired quickly. Glad you were safe!

Leave a Reply

