Skip to content

Wild Goose Chase – Giveaway!

September 2, 2008

I have a copy of this book to give away to one of you!  Anyone who comments on this post before Friday will be entered into a drawing for the book.  Each time you comment is another entry.  If you don’t win, you can buy one HERE

I haven’t finished the book yet and I am late posting this, but there is a part in the first half of the book where Mark writes about how often it seems that we don’t receive confirmation or signs from God until we step out in faith.  It isn’t until we step into the river in faith that the water parts (see Joshua leading across the Jordan, which is a great story).  So if your wanting to comment and have an example of this, let me know.  I am working on a upcoming lesson and would love to hear any examples you have of NOT playing it safe and God blessing it.

Now a bit about the book and author

Most of us have no idea where we’re going most of the time. Perfect.

“Celtic Christians had a name for the Holy Spirit–An Geadh-Glas, or ‘the Wild Goose.’ The name hints at mystery. Much like a wild goose, the Spirit of God cannot be tracked or tamed. An element of danger, an air of unpredictability surround Him. And while the name may sound a little sacrilegious, I cannot think of a better description of what it’s like to follow the Spirit through life. I think the Celtic Christians were on to something….

Most of us will have no idea where we are going most of the time. And I know that is unsettling. But circumstantial uncertainty also goes by another name: Adventure.” –from the introduction

Author Bio:

Mark Batterson is the lead pastor of Washington, DC’s National Community Church, widely recognized as one of America’s most innovative churches. NCC meets in movie theaters at metro stops throughout the city, as well as in a church-owned coffee house near Union Station. More than seventy percent of NCC’ers are single twentysomethings who live or work on Capitol Hill. Mark is the author of the best-selling In a Pit with a Lion on a Snowy Day and a widely read blogger (www.markbatterson.com). He lives on Capitol Hill with his wife, Lora, and their three children.

10 Comments leave one →
  1. September 2, 2008 12:29 pm

    I’m in!

  2. September 2, 2008 12:29 pm

    The drawing, that is.

  3. September 2, 2008 12:32 pm

    It sounds like a great book. I’m actually in the middle of something right now that makes the subject matter very relevant. So if I don’t win, I’ll probably buy the book.

    And yes, I’m trying to get more entries in!

  4. September 2, 2008 8:00 pm

    That sounds interesting – I may just have to check that book out!

  5. September 3, 2008 1:14 pm

    Sounds like another winner. You were right on with your recommendation of “The Shack”, so I will have to get this one too. Someone told me many years ago that God can’t steer a park car. We have to get moving for Him to give direction.

  6. September 5, 2008 9:38 am

    We just had the drawing here at headquarters, and the winner is ……Jeff Slater. I actually numbered the entries and it was Jeff’s first entry that won the book for him. Jeff, I will email you to get your address.

  7. September 5, 2008 1:36 pm

    I just wish I had your connections.

  8. September 11, 2008 6:12 am

    well … its your book to give away to whomever you wish, but i was excited to be in the running to get it. however, i will look into getting it online. i, too, am about to be a part of a class studying the Holy Spirit. i liked the analogy of comparing the God’s Holy Spirit to a wild goose; that it’s untamed, and can go where it wants.

    … i wish i would’ve won, tho. 😦

  9. September 16, 2008 9:22 am

    Looking for some feedback over at my blog. If you wouldn’t mind coming by and giving me your thoughts.

    Thanks.

  10. November 13, 2008 12:05 pm

    Отлично!!! Вместо книги на ночь.

Leave a Reply

