Skip to content

Let me introduce…my daughter.

September 25, 2008

I can’t seem to find time to post and this is actually from a sermon I gave a few weeks ago.  The text is formatting funky but you’ll get over it.  🙂

Over a dozen years ago, the idea of adopting a girl from china was planted in Kim’s Heart. It was to me something we MIGHT do someday. Not even on my radar. Then a few years ago God started working on me. I’m sure due in part to Kim’s prayers. Steven Curtis Chapman had this song out about seeing the face of Jesus in a little orphan girl…and how Jesus said, that is where I told you that you would find me.

And I admit that impacted me. It was hard to get over that. I didn’t really.

And a friend was teaching a class on money and gave everyone a few dollars to advance the kingdom of God. Everybody thought and prayed over that little money and did some amazing and creative things and we all learned that we should treat all our money that way. But we started down the road toward adopting with that.

I got myself out of the way just enough for us to start.

Fast forward thru a lot of paperwork. The process was getting longer and longer and we decided we had to switch to special needs. Children with some type of medical condition.

We got a call from our agency not too long ago to consider a little girl. We received a medical report and some pictures.

We had 48 hours to decide! Is she to become part of our family. It wasn’t that easy. We learned that she had a serious heart condition, would require surgery and of course that takes lots of money. By the time we heard from the doctor reviewing her records, we only had a couple of hours. We were told the worst case scenarios and the other possible outcomes. The clock was ticking.

We wept and prayed and Kim was willing to take her even if it would be a short life, she said, I want to be with her and at least she will not be alone if that is the outcome. (an early death)

But I was thinking, what about finances and what if the worst happens, how will it affect our boy’s faith. And really, I was thinking if I give my heart to this little girl can I stand it if we lose her some day?

I went outside to pray and Kim texted a bunch of people asking for prayer.

Now prayers like “God help the Stewart’s with this decision” are good prayers, but in times of much drama like this what you need are listening prayers. People asking God, what do you want me to tell them. God what should they do? It risky. (those kinds of prayer and interceding for someone.

I was outside begging God to give me some sort of clear communication. Let me HEAR.

God chose an iphone.

My phone rang and It was Bo. His words were “I only have one thing to say, I feel I am supposted to tell you ‘God is bigger than her heart condition.’ ”

And I began to cry and it was in part because someone would pray and listen for us and would call and in part because I was risking much. I wasn’t playing it safe. I was taking what God has given me and trying to multiply it.

So let me introduce you to (sounds like Suwhey).

We will call her Rachel.

This is our daughter. We hope to rescue her before the end of the year.

It has been said that adoption is the visual gospel.

A child w/o a home will have one.

A child w/o a family will have one.

A child w/o a name gets one

A child w/ a damaged heart with hope will be made whole.

That is what God does for you. He didn’t play it safe to give you his name.

And we can’t afford to either!

11 Comments leave one →
  1. September 25, 2008 10:01 am

    I love her already.

    You’ve taught me a lot through this experience. (I’m not even close to the situation but just seeing what you’ve learned has meant a lot to me.)

  2. September 25, 2008 10:11 am

    and now I cry…again.

    I am so grateful for your heart, your wife’s HUGE heart and good friends to show you God’s will!

    I love you all!

  3. September 25, 2008 7:27 pm

    Can’t wait to meet her!

  4. J D permalink
    September 26, 2008 9:37 am

    I’m so happy or you and just full of love for your family and the way you are sharing yourselves. Thank you. And I’m very happy for Rachel.

  5. September 26, 2008 3:52 pm

    You said over on Facebook a couple of days ago you were looking for inspiration, Tommy. I think you’ve found it with Rachel.

    May she bring the greatest blessings y’all have ever had to your lives by becoming your daughter.

    Much love to you guys!

    Dee

  6. September 29, 2008 2:52 pm

    Adoption is on my heart too. I don’t see it happening anytime soon, but I know God is bigger than whatever I think and His timeline is ALWAYS different than mine. (But I need Him to work on my husband’s heart too!!!!)

  7. September 29, 2008 2:53 pm

    Oh yeah – I think Rachel is beautiful & will be a great blessing for your family. I’m sure God will amaze you at how He works this into your childrens’ faith too!

  8. September 29, 2008 8:40 pm

    May the love of God pour through you into the life of that precious little girl!

  9. October 2, 2008 5:40 am

    Adoption is so important.
    My dad was raised at Sunny Glen Children’s home. I know his life and self-esteem would have been different had he been adopted. He had 12 different house parents while at Sunny Glen. 12 different people that would come in and say, “I love you! Bye….love you! Bye. 12 different times. Yes, I am very thankful that he was raise in a Christian home but I know things would have been different had he been adopted.

  10. October 2, 2008 6:28 am

    Both of our children are adopted, as are my younger sister and my wife’s (late) younger brother. Adoption runs in our family. I am so glad it does.

    Rachel/Suwhey will bless your lives (and challenge them!) in ways you cannot possibly imagine.

Trackbacks

  1. “Coats ‘N’ Cribs for Kids” « Innocent Lamb

Leave a Reply

