Skip to content

a Hail Mary

November 4, 2008

voting-machine1

I received a version of this last week.  I have edited it for today.

Friends, my hunch is you already have been, but I’d be remiss if I didn’t ask you to be praying about next week’s today’s elections. I think the prayer is simple, really: That God would constrain his people by his Spirit in them to do what is right. This is a good prayer because so many other things can motivate us, like fear, or the power of the advertising, all that gets thrown at us as an election approaches. Emotions are high, but I’m not sure clear thinking is. I wish I had the confidence that God’s people would not be phased by any of it, but we are human and sometimes we are swayed by things other than the Spirit of God. So that’s the prayer for this weekend today, that God’s people would be moved by his Spirit and nothing else.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. November 4, 2008 1:50 pm

    Nothing happens when I click on “voting machine”.

    I have prayed more about this election than any in my past.

  2. November 6, 2008 10:13 am

    It was an incomplete pass! 🙂
    I hope you have a great week.
    You, your family and ministry are always in my prayers daily.
    Remember God is always with us.

  3. November 7, 2008 12:26 pm

    Evangelicals crossed the isle to vote Democratic in record numbers this time around. I’m not sure what the implications of that is, or what it says about those of us who claim to honor God’s word and follow Jesus.

    Obama will be my president and I wish him well. I will pray for him and that he will be a good president is my sincere desire. (http://gracedigest.com) My post “Yes We Can” might be of interest to you.

    Royce

  4. November 11, 2008 12:08 pm

    Hey there,

    Thanks so much for your comment on my video. We don’t have a copy of the video in higher resolution that we could offer you at this time. However, if you keep reading the blog, we might be able to have something like that in the future.

    Thanks for reading!

    Richard

  5. November 12, 2008 10:51 am

    I hope and pray that all is going well for you and your family.
    You are always in my thoughts and prayers.

  6. November 26, 2008 10:42 am

    I hope you have a good Thanksgiving with your family, Tommy! There’s a lot be thankful for and look forward to with your upcoming new arrival, Rachel! We are so excited for you all and can’t wait to get to know this precious child through your words and pictures.

Leave a Reply

