Skip to content

Travel Plans

December 19, 2008

087

We have purchased plane tickets to the other side of the world!  Honestly I dread that flight, but at least this time Kim and I can put Caleb and his skinny self between us.  Last time I flew that long a flight I was between two very large guys (read misery).  But, it will all be more than worth it to get to Rachel.

We have been waiting on  ‘a’ Rachel for over 13 years.  Eli, Caleb and Titus were all going to be Rachel…but the name didn’t seem to fit.

So we are leaving on the 7th of January which is my birthday!  It will be an exciting day for sure.

I’ve been thinking a lot about the idea of a coming child.  I “preached” last Sunday.  (that is joke that a friend an I shared about teaching/sharing/speaking/preaching)  I try to be conversational…. but The idea of Advent is that we are “toward the coming”, something is coming and we are moving closer to that.   As I have thought about us approaching the day we see our daughter face to face for the first time, I can’t help but think about the idea that Jesus comes again and again.  That anticipation of finding him in all this that we call Christmas.

Neither of these is easy.  Finding Rachel or finding Jesus in the middle of what can seem like Chaos.    Both can be overwhelming and can be robbed of Joy.  there is though this amazing thing that I am trying to learn.  That Joy runs fear out of the room.  When Joy comes, fear leaves.    So I am asking for Joy, trying to concentrate on what has come and not on what ‘might’ come, and realizing that Joy in part comes from realizing life is a gift.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. December 19, 2008 1:24 pm

    What an amazing birthday present. and a wonderful analogy!!

    You all will remain in my prayers.

  2. December 19, 2008 4:30 pm

    I’m very happy for all of you.

    Us girls love our daddies and I’m sure Rachel will be no different!

  3. Eddie permalink
    December 19, 2008 9:12 pm

    I hope that you all knw how thrilled we are for you. Hope to see you in the next couple of weeks to hug your neck and celebrate with you. God bless!

  4. December 25, 2008 3:27 pm

    Yay! SO exciting. She is gorgeous… Can’t wait to get an update.

    Very very wonderful time of life.

  5. January 3, 2009 1:28 pm

    Dearest Tommy –

    I’m just getting caught up today with blogs and Facebook and am SO happy to hear this great news about y’all going to get Rachel! She is SO cute! Love it!

    And, leaving on your birthday, too. What a wonderful present for a new year of life for you – and for your new life with Rachel and family.

    I’ve been thinking of you a whole lot because I finally dug out all of my recipes for the first time since moving in the house over a year ago and found our Crawfish-Corn Bisque recipe that we made for you guys (double batch!) when you came down in Feb. 06 to give us a new roof . That was such a wonderful weekend together in fellowship and fun and we will never forget it!

    Tom & I got all of our ingredients together and are making Crawfish-Corn Bisque tonight or tomorrow and will be thinking of you and wishing you were here to help us eat it.

    May God watch over you all and bless you with a good trip, minor inconveniences, a rapid conclusion of all of the red tape and a wonderful trip back home with your new precious daughter and three sons.

    Much love,

    Dee

Leave a Reply

