Skip to content

To sit in your fathers lap and forget

July 30, 2009

Last night, my nine year old Caleb was having a tough time.  He is all heart and that can at times be a great thing.  But at times when he thinks things are not going the way he wants…or if he senses something is wrong…or even if he feels upset because he as been corrected;  he will get very down.  Last night he was telling Kim how horrible his life was.  In the past we have tried to tell him over and over all the good things in his life.  Kim was trying that last night, and he said she was saying all the things he didn’t want to hear.  (been there, how about you?)

So I was sitting in my bed and he came in and said he wanted to talk to me.  That “I feel better after I talk to you”.   So I told him that maybe when he was expressing his displeasure, it scared us, that maybe he should just say, “right now things seem awful” or that maybe we needed to hear it that way.  

So as we talked I held him in my lap.  Realizing that in a few short moments he will be “too big” for sitting in my lap and for me to hold him. 

Craig, who has taught me so much, wrote today about a recent time with his family.  It well worth a read.   And it has me thinking.

I want for a moment to be where I can forget I am an adult and just be a child.  A moment to crawl in my heavenly father’s lap, (because I will have to admit that my earthly father is gone and our relationship is what it is (unless that beautiful scene in The Shack comes true)).  To crawl in his lap and say “right now things seem awful” to find his favor, to find his delight and find his love.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. July 30, 2009 2:49 pm

    Your thoughts parallel mine about the purpose of prayer.

    What a comfort to be small in the lap of a great and loving God!

  2. July 31, 2009 10:09 am

    He is there waiting…wanting to give you that comfort, just like you wanted to give it to Caleb.

Leave a Reply

