Skip to content

Believing the Gospel

January 12, 2010

The problem with believing the gospel is that people who don’t deserve anything have all these wonderful things given to them.  The previous sentence is a paraphrase from Ted Haggard (from a talk last year at the Q conference)  This was in response to the criticism from some that he doesn’t deserve to be on a stage or to have a voice, due to his sexual addictions.

Last night I was getting our adopted daughter Rachel to bed.  Today is our one year anniversary of “gotcha day”.  The day we first saw her in person and she has been with us since that moment.  We had spent the night having “family game night”.  Rachel was sitting on her bed pouting.   I asked what was wrong and she was upset that she didn’t get to read books.  She had already asked Kim about this at least 2 times and was told both times that we played games and it was past bedtime.

I was suddenly furious at her.

The ungrateful little thing.  For about 15 seconds I had all these thoughts of what she should act like.  How she should be thankful, how she should realize how much she has been given, How she now has so much, How she has a family, For God’s sake a father that sits with her each night for a year so that she can go to sleep!  (I could go on and on)

And then I felt it.

That familiar hand on my shoulder.  Not condemning, but the flood of realization as Jesus reminds me.  I am not much any different than Rachel.

All the things that I can’t stand frustrate me (ok really it is can’t stand) about Rachel’s attitude at times are the very things in me that are not right.  She has in the past year brought out the worst demons in both Kim and I.  For me, I am reminded from time to time that if adoption is the personification of the Gospel of Christ then she is the personification of all in me that still needs healing and changing.  I could list so many things…

We talked for several minutes about the blessings in her life, this morning she greeted me as she does every morning.  When she first sees me she always comes and stands right in front of me with her arms stretched up and will not say anything as I teasingly ask what she wants, then I pick her up and she snuggles against my neck.  Maybe that is our appropriate response to our father.

All these people who don’t deserve anything(and surely I am at the top of the list) getting all these wonderful things…that is the Gospel.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. January 12, 2010 12:19 pm

    God gives us so much grace, doesn’t he?

  2. January 12, 2010 1:34 pm

    Yes Peter. Thanks for the comment, I look forward to reading your blog.

  3. January 12, 2010 2:43 pm

    that was great! loved the video!!

  4. January 12, 2010 3:01 pm

    very special. thanks for sharing. wonderful video.

    God bless.

  5. January 12, 2010 3:26 pm

    Great memories of a eventful 1st year….

    and yes I am sure my Father would like to shake some sense into me more often than I care to think. His grace and mercy in the face of my lack of gratitude and faith are staggering and so undeserved.

  6. January 13, 2010 11:03 am

    Thanks Ashia and Darin. Donna, exactly.

  7. February 21, 2010 2:12 pm

    Hey, Tommy – Sorry I haven’t been around in so long. Mostly I’m keeping up with everyone on FB these days b/c it’s so much easier, somehow.

    Love you guys! This post about Rachel’s first year with you is chock full of good thoughts on a lot of different levels. Thank you.

    I just got caught up on all your posts for the past couple of months and am glad you are writing again.

    God be with you. Dee

  8. September 12, 2011 11:47 am

    Hey there I wasLooking out the top 5 sites on bing and i found your site. I must that you have a great blog here. You’re writing is great and now a days ya cant seem to find that on many sites. Keep up the great job and I willmost definitely will come back. Once again thank you. and have a awesome day!

Leave a Reply

