Skip to content

Greg is my Friend!

January 14, 2010

13 or 14 years ago I met and began to get to know a guy as a fellow councelor at Sardis Lake Camp.  I had no idea at the time that person would become such a great friend of mine.  That he would become the person that I probably have shared more highs and lows with than anyone other than my wife.  We have layed in the floor and prayed more times than I can count.  We have laughed more times (often to the point of tears) than I can remember.

I knew yesterday was coming for a few months.  I guess I had more heads up about it than anyone.  But it caught me off guard all the same.  A few friends took Greg and family out to eat before they left.  As that U-haul truck left the parking lot and I followed it a short way down the road, I was reminded of a scene from a movie that I have not watched in years.  I need to go back and watch this to make sure I remember correctly.

In Dances with Wolves, Kevin Costner’s character is called by the Indians “Dances with Wolves”  He comes to live with them and the one most opposed to him over time becomes his great friend.  And for their safety Costner’s character deciedes he must leave them so that the army will stop chasing them.  As I remember his friend can’t or will not tell him goodbye.  As they are riding out he stands on a ridge above the camp and yells over and over that “Dances with Wolves is my friend, he will always be my friend” .

That is how I felt last night.  My fear is that distance has a way of dulling friendships.  You certainly in today’s technology keep in touch and even have true friendships at any distance.  But a best friend at times needs to present, in the flesh.  At least I think I am right about this.   And so it was a sad day for me.

But I certainly wish them the best in that God forsaken land of Texas where so many settlers gave up and decided to live. 🙂

As another friend said, “It’s a reminder that life is full of many chapters” .   This chapter was a great one.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. January 15, 2010 8:53 am

    I had always thought we would all get together again like we did in Memphis. Although those kind of things rarely happen more than once, the other two times I was around Greg I knew he was a great guy. I know you will miss him….

  2. June 14, 2011 2:04 pm

    Exceptional short article! I¡¯ll rss rectify these days wth excellent feedreader application!¡­

  3. August 14, 2011 1:44 pm

    I do accept as true with all of the ideas you have introduced on your post. They are very convincing and will certainly work. Still, the posts are too quick for starters. Could you please lengthen them a bit from next time? Thanks for the post.

Leave a Reply

