Skip to content

How Great is Our God

March 2, 2007

03-01-07_1938.jpg

There were a lot of storms yesterday.  We drove through Tuscaloosa with “Storm Chaser” trucks and TV satellite trucks all along the by-pass.

We met Donna and Terri at Michaels to eat like a bunch of 80-year-olds (it was like 4PM).  They had already made friends some of the staff when we got there.

It only took Donna 10 minutes (x3) to get to the auditorium downtown.  But once inside we had great seats.

A number of people died in Alabama yesterday in all the storms.  Louis Giglio came out to begin and said that they felt the need to start in a different manner tonight due to the loss around us today.  Chris Tomlin began with an unaccompanied song of God’s grace is enough.  They said, “this is not us singing to you, or you singing to us, this is us joining together to sing praises to God”.   And it was.

He and his band played a few more and then were joined by Matt Redman for a few songs and then Louis Giglio, who is the founder of Passion and six-steps records spoke.  I have heard Louis speak a number of times, mostly not live.  But he was really on last night.  Wow,  there is a DVD coming out in a month or two of this talk.  (And you might see us as they were filming our row several times).  It is the follow up to “Indescribable”.  The talk and the tour are about how Jesus holds all things together.  Even in the face of storms.  We learned how big the universe that “the star breather” has made and how at a microscopic level he knits us together.

A few more songs then Louis said  we are going to take a break and this may sound churchy but when we come back we’re going to blow this place out!.   Yeah, real churchy, Louis.   And they did.  Blow it out that is.

For the record, Terri cried, I think Donna did too.   But it was really just a night of a gift from God of all of us enjoying ourselves and enjoying worship.

Louis’ blog is HERE.

How Can I Keep From Singing  -Tomlin/Redman

There is an endless song
Echoes in my soul
I hear the music ring
And though storms may come
I am holding on
To the rock I cling

How can I keep from singing Your praise?
How can I ever say enough?
How amazing is Your love?
How can I keep from shouting Your name?
I know I am loved by the King
And it makes my heart want to sing

I will lift my eyes
In the darkest night
For I know my Savior lives
And I will walk with You
Knowing You see me through
And sing the songs You give

How can I keep from singing Your praise?
How can I ever say enough?
How amazing is Your love?
How can I keep from shouting Your name?
I know I am loved by the King
And it makes my heart want to sing

I can sing in the troubled times
Sing when I win
I can sing when I lose my step
And I fall down again

I can sing ’cause You pick me up
Sing ’cause You’re there
I can sing ’cause You hear me, Lord
When I call to You in prayer

I can sing with my last breath
Sing for I know
That I’ll sing with the angels
And the saints around the throne

How can I keep from singing Your praise?
How can I ever say enough?
How amazing is Your love?
How can I keep from shouting Your name?
I know I am loved by the King
And it makes my heart
I am loved by the King
And it makes my heart
I am loved by the King
And it makes my heart want to sing
I can sing

8 Comments leave one →
  1. Terri permalink
    March 2, 2007 2:49 pm

    At least it wasn’t YOU that made me cry! It was a really, really good night on this earth that we’ll say is the size of a golf ball…

  2. March 2, 2007 3:56 pm

    Actually Donna didn’t cry…but she smiled and her heart kind of felt like it was going to explode with sheer joy! But no tears.

    I am glad you got a picture of the guy in the hat….he wore out easily but he was “feeling it”.

  3. March 2, 2007 4:01 pm

    Well didn’t want Terri to feel alone.

    The hat guy was great. Did you see him comforting his buddy?

  4. March 5, 2007 11:25 am

    Thanks, Tommy, for sharing y’all’s blessings at the concert. Friday was a special day for me and Tom, too, with my birthday and our 16th wedding anniversary. The entire weekend was good, except for Saturday when I wasn’t feeling well all day long, but Friday and yesterday more than made up for it!

    Love you Tommy! We think often and talk often of the weekend you and the guys came down to bless us by putting a new roof on our house in Slidell. What a wonderful weekend that was. Even with me on my scooter at the time!

    Now I’m back on both feet and living is great. Our house hopefully will be finished by May and we are SO looking forward to that. We went out Saturday to check the week’s work and ended up sitting on the top step of the stairs leading down from the deck in back to the back “yard,” which is merely some cleared out trees. We sat there and soaked up the sun and dreamed of our summer to come when we will be there “for real” to sit in chairs on our deck or on the screened in back porch under the fans and enjoy all of God’s blessings out there in the woods next to the creek.

    Cheers & Blessings to you today, my dear friend! I think about you every time I open my small New Testament identical to the one I inscribed and gave you that had been in our family for years.

    Love you all! Dee

  5. Kay Weese permalink
    December 10, 2007 9:14 am

    I would like to purchase some DVD’s of “How Great is Our God”. Where is the web sight to place an order?
    Thanks
    Kay

  6. December 10, 2007 10:51 am

    Kay, yes go to http://www.268generation.com

  7. Casey permalink
    March 29, 2008 6:18 pm

    I would like to purchase DVDs of “HOW GREAT IS OUR GOD” cannot find a web site.

  8. March 30, 2008 10:29 pm

    casey go to http://www.268generation.com and click on the store link.

Leave a comment